Bengals Sign CB Tony McRae To Practice Squad, Release CB Sojourn Shelton

The Cincinnati Bengals announced Friday that they’ve signed CB Tony McRae to practice squad and release CB Sojourn Shelton from the unit.

The Bengals’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. LB Brandon Bell
  2. OT Kent Perkins
  3. DT Josh Tupou
  4. WR Kermit Whitfield
  5. DT DeShawn Williams
  6. RB Jarveon Williams
  7. S Brandon Wilson
  8. CB Sojourn Shelton
  9. G J.J. Dielman
  10. TE Scott Orndoff

McRae, 24, wound up signing on with the Raiders as an undrafted free agent out of North Carolina A&T back in May of last year. However, he, unfortunately, lasted less than a week in Oakland before he was waived and later signed by the Bengals during the preseason.

McRae was on and off of the Bengals’ active roster last year and returned to Cincinnati on a future/reserve contract this past January. After the Bengals waived him coming out of the preseason, the Ravens signed him to their practice squad and eventually promoted him to their active roster.

The Bills claimed McRae off of waivers earlier in the week only to cut him loose a few days later.

In 2017, McRae has appeared in five games and recorded one tackle.

Leave a Reply

Notify of