Bengals Sign S Derron Smith To Practice Squad, Release TE Scott Orndoff

The Cincinnati Bengals announced Tuesday that they’ve signed S Derron Smith to their practice squad and released TE Scott Orndoff from the unit.

The Bengals’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. LB Brandon Bell
  2. OT Kent Perkins
  3. DT Josh Tupou
  4. WR Kermit Whitfield
  5. DT DeShawn Williams
  6. RB Jarveon Williams
  7. S Brandon Wilson
  8. G J.J. Dielman
  9. CB Tony McRae
  10. S Derron Smith

Orndoff, 23, wound up signing a three-year, $1.66 million contract with Steelers as an undrafted free agent out of Pittsburgh back in May. He stands to make base salaries of $465,000 and $555,000 over the first two years of the agreement.

The Steelers waived Orndoff with an injury designation on Wednesday and he later signed on with the Lions for a few weeks. The Bengals added him to their practice squad last month.

During his four-year college career at Pittsburgh, Orndoff recorded 58 receptions for 897 yards receiving (15.5 YPC) and 13 touchdowns.

Leave a Reply

Notify of