Home / NFL Transactions / Packers Officially Sign WR James Jones, Announce 9-Man Practice Squad

Packers Officially Sign WR James Jones, Announce 9-Man Practice Squad


The Green Bay Packers officially announced the signing of  veteran WR James Jones to a one-year contract on Monday.

The Packers also announced their nine-game practice squad that consists of:

  1. WR Jared Abbrederis
  2. TE Justin Perillo
  3. G Matt Rotheram
  4. LB James Vaughters
  5. ILB Carl Bradford
  6. RB John Crockett
  7. DT Christian Ringo
  8. OT Jeremy Vujnovich
  9. CB Robertson Daniel


Ian Rapoport of NFL Media reports that the Green Bay Packer are, in fact, re-signing veteran WR James Jones to a contract.

  • Tom Silverstein reports that Jones will receive a one-year contract from the team.

Reports from earlier in the day mentioned that the two parties were open to getting a deal done, and it didn’t take long for him to board a plan to Green Bay.

Upon landing at the airport, Jones told reporters that the plan was to have an agreement in place today, so it appears as though the deal came together very quickly.

Jones, 31, immediately came up as a potential option for the Packers after they lost Jordy Nelson for the season in the event that the Giants released him.

Sure enough, New York parted ways with Jones just a little over a month after they signed him to a one-year deal. Jones has since said that he plans on playing this season.

In 2014, Jones appeared in all 16 games for the Raiders and caught 73 passes for 666 yards receiving and six touchdowns. Pro Football Focus has him rated as the No. 89 receiver out of 110 qualifying players.

Leave a Reply

Notify of