Seahawks Sign 5 Players Futures Deals Including DB Demetrius McCray & DT Rodney Coe

The Seattle Seahawks officially signed five players to future/reserve contracts on Thursday including DB Demetrius McCray, WR Jamel Johnson, DT Rodney Coe, TE Chris Briggs, and WR Rodney Smith.

The Seahawks have now signed 15 players to futures deals since their season ended. The full list includes:

  1. OL Will Pericak (NFLTR)
  2. WR Marcus Lucas
  3. DB Pierre Desir
  4. WR Kenny Lawler
  5. RBĀ George Farmer
  6. DE Shaneil Jenkins
  7. RB Malcolm Johnson
  8. C Ross Burbank
  9. RB Kelvin Taylor
  10. DT Tylor Harris
  11. DB Demetrius McCray
  12. WR Jamel Johnson
  13. DT Rodney Coe
  14. TE Chris Briggs
  15. WR Rodney Smith

Future/reserve contracts are essentially an opportunity for players compete for a roster spot in offseason workouts and during training camp.

McCray, 25, is a former seventh-round pick of the Jaguars back in 2013. He spent three years in Jacksonville before he was, unfortunately, among their roster cuts coming out of the preseason.

Since becoming a free agent, McCray has worked out for the Lions, Seahawks, Browns, Panthers, and Broncos but was never signed to a contract from any of those teams.

In 2015, McCray appeared in 14 games for the Jaguars and recorded 25 tackles and no interceptions.

Coe, 23, wound up signing a three-year, $1.62 million contract with the Cowboys as an undrafted free agent out of Akron back in May. He lasted just a few months with the Cowboys before he was among their final roster cuts coming out of the preseason.

The Buccaneers signed him to their practice squad a few weeks into the regular seasonĀ and was on and off of their active roster before eventually joining the Jaguars’ practice squad toward the end of the season.

During his college career, Coe recorded 83 tackles, 2.5 sacks, four pass defenses, a forced fumble and a recovery.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply