Chiefs Release OLB Marcus Rush From Practice Squad, Sign WR Amba Etta-Tawo


The Kansas City Chiefs have signed WR Amba Etta-Tawo to their practice squad and released OLB Marcus Rush from the unit on Wednesday, according to Terez A. Paylor.

The Chiefs’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. WR Gehrig Dieter
  2. WR Marcus Kemp
  3. G Damien Mama
  4. S Leon McQuay
  5. OT Isaiah Williams
  6. RB George Atkinson
  7. DB Keith Reaser
  8. DT Daniel Ross
  9. TE Neal Sterling
  10. WR Amba Etta-Tawo

Rush, 26, wound up signing on with the 49ers as an undrafted free agent out of Michigan State back in May of 2015. He was, unfortunately, unable to make the 53-man roster coming out of the preseason but spent the year on the 49ers’ practice squad.

Rush returned to San Francisco on a future/reserve contract in January of last year. However, he was once again cut loose at the start of the regular season and added to their practice squad.

The Jaguars signed him off of the 49ers’ practice squad in December and he would go on to be active for two games. The Chiefs signed him to a contract back in May, but he’s been on and off of their practice squad since the season got underway.

During his college career, Rush recorded 163 tackles, 37.5 tackles for a loss, 18.5 sacks, 11 pass defenses, one fumble recovery and four forced fumbles over the course of 52 games.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply