Saints Waive TE John Phillips


Joel A. Erickson reports that the Saints have waived TE John Phillips as they trim their roster down to the 53-man limit.

Here is a running list of the Saints cuts:

  1. WR Brandon Tate (Josh Katzenstein)
  2. CB Linden Stephens (Nick Underhill)
  3. DE George Johnson (Josh Katzenstein)
  4. OLB Hau’oli Kikaha (Nick Underhill)
  5. TE Deon Yelder (Nick Underhill)
  6. WR Michael Floyd (Nick Underhill)
  7. OL Don Barclay (Nick Underhill)
  8. OL Andrew Tiller (Nick Underhill)
  9. LB/DE Jayrone Elliott (Josh Katzenstein)
  10. LB KeShun Freeman (Josh Katzenstein)
  11. DB Robert Nelson (Nick Underhill)
  12. DT Woodrow Hamilton (Josh Katzenstein)
  13. DE Alex Jenkins (Josh Katzenstein)
  14. DT Henry Mondeaux (Herbie Teope)
  15. TE John Phillips

Phillips, 31, is a former sixth-round pick of the Cowboys back in 2009. He spent four years in Dallas before signing a three-year contract with the Chargers as an unrestricted free agent in 2013.

After a few years with the Chargers, Phillips caught on with the Broncos for the 2016 season but was cut loose in November and later claimed by the Saints. Since then, Phillips has been on and off of the Saints’ roster.

New Orleans re-signed him, once again, earlier this offseason.

In 2016, Phillips appeared in all 16 games and caught 10 passes for 72 yards receiving and one touchdown.

Leave a Reply

Notify of