Cowboys Officially Cut 20 Players, Get Down To 53


The Dallas Cowboys have begun the process of trimming their roster down to 53 players. Here’s the list of roster cuts up to this point:

  1. LB Derek Akunne
  2. C Jake Brendel
  3. DT Rodney Coe
  4. S Isaiah Frey
  5. TE Rico Gathers
  6. LB Brandon Hepburn
  7. QB Jerrod Johnson
  8. WR Andy Jones
  9. LB Deon King
  10. OT Ryan Mack
  11. WR Vince Mayle
  12. DE Mike McAdoo
  13. DT Lawrence Okoye
  14. CB Deji Olatoye
  15. DE Ryan Russell
  16. OG Boston Stiverson
  17. WR Devin Street
  18. TE Austin Traylor
  19. P Matt Wile
  20. OT Bryan Witzmann

Other roster moves include:

  • DE DeMarcus Lawrence (reserve/suspended)
  • RB Darren McFadden (reserve/non-football injury)

Akunne, 23, originally signed on with the Falcons as undrafted free agent out of North Texas back in 2015. He was unable to make the 53-man roster last year, but later signed onto the Falcons’ practice squad before being cut loose in October.

The Cowboys later added him to their practice squad and brought him back on a future/reserve contract.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments