Patriots Officially Cut 21 Players

The New England Patriots announced Tuesday that they’ve officially reduced their roster down to 53 players.

The full list of cuts includes:

  1. QB Cam Newton
  2. QB Brian Hoyer
  3. DT Montravius Adams
  4. K Nick Folk
  5. S Adrian Colbert
  6. CB Dee Virgin
  7. DT Akeem Spence
  8. OL Alex Redmond
  9. OL James Ferentz
  10. TE Matt LaCosse.
  11. DT Bill Murray
  12. WR Kristian Wilkerson
  13. WR Isaiah Zuber
  14. CB Michael Jackson
  15. DB D’Angelo Ross
  16. DB Myles Bryant
  17. OL Will Sherman
  18. OT Korey Cunningham
  19. WR Tre Nixon
  20. DT Nick Thurman
  21. OLB Tashawn Bower

Other roster moves:

  1. LB Anfernee Jennings on injured reserve
  2. QB Jarrett Stidham, CB Stephon Gilmore, LB Terez Hall, DT Byron Cowart – physically unable to perform list
  3. S Joshuah Bledsoe and LB Cameron McGrone – non-football injury list

Newton, 32, is a former first-round pick of the Panthers back in 2011. He was entering the fifth year of his six-year, $118.47 million contract that includes $60 million guaranteed and set to make base salaries of $16.2 million and $18.6 million over the final two years of the agreement when the Panthers cut him this offseason. 

The Patriots later signed Newton to a one-year deal in June of last year and returned to New England on another one-year contract this past March. 

In 2020, Newton appeared in 14 games for the Patriots and completed 65.4 percent of his passes for 2,415 yards, five touchdowns and 10 interceptions. He has also rushed for 513 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply