Redskins Re-Sign CB Dashaun Phillips To Practice Squad, Cut LB Carlos Fields


The Washington Redskins announced Tuesday they’ve signed CB Dashaun Phillips to their practice squad and waived LB Carlos Fields from the unit.

The Redskins’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. OT Isaiah Williams
  2. WR Kendal Thompson
  3. TE Wes Saxton
  4. C Ronald Patrick
  5. DB Tye Smith
  6. DT Joey Mbu
  7. DT A.J. Francis
  8. CB Dashaun Phillips
  9. WR Matt Hazel
  10. DB Lee Hightower

Phillips, 25, originally signed on with the Cowboys as an undrafted free agent out of Tarleton State back in May of last year. He was waived with an injury designation before eventually joining the Jets.

Phillips was, unfortunately, unable to make the Jets’ 53-man roster coming out of the preseason, but he later signed on to the Redskins’ practice squad a week into the start of the 2015 season.

Washington later promoted him to their active roster in November of last year. However, they elected to cut him this past weekend.

In 2016, Phillips has appeared in three games for the Redskins and recorded seven total tackles during that time.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments