Texans Activate Three From COVID-19 List, Release WR Devin Smith From PS


The Houston Texans officially activated LB Dylan Cole, LB Whitney Mercilus and OT Max Scharping from the COVID-19 list on Tuesday. 

The Texans also signed LB Curtis Bolton and DE Kendall Futrell to their practice squad and released WR Devin Smith from the unit. 

Here’s the Texans updated practice squad:

  1. DT Auzoyah Alufohai
  2. LB Davin Bellamy (Injured)
  3. DB Anthony Chesley
  4. WR Chad Hansen
  5. C Greg Mancz
  6. WR Steven Mitchell
  7. T Elijah Nkansah
  8. RB Scottie Philips
  9. TE Pharaoh Brown
  10. G Cordel Iwuagwu
  11. DT Corey Liuget
  12. LB Emmanuel Ellerbee
  13. K Brett Maher
  14. WR Damion Ratley
  15. RB C.J. Prosise
  16. LB Curtis Bolton
  17. DE Kendall Futrell

Mercilus, 30, is a former first-round pick of the Texans back in 2012. He was in the final year of his five-year, $27.431 million contract that included $10.8 million guaranteed in 2019 when he signed a four-year, $54 million extension.

In 2020, Mercilus has appeared in seven games for the Texans and recorded 14 tackles, three sacks and a fumble recovery. 

Cole, 26, signed on with the Texans as an undrafted free agent out of Missouri State back in 2017. He played out the final year of a three-year, $1.66 million contract and made a base salary of $645,000 the 2019 season.

Cole re-signed with Houston as a restricted free agent for the 2020 season.

In 2020, Cole has appeared in six games for the Texans and recorded five total tackles.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments