Vikings Officially Cut 23 Players Including DE Everson Griffen

The Minnesota Vikings officially cut their roster down to 53 players on Tuesday.

Vikings helmet

Minnesota released the following players:

  1. RB Ameer Abdullah
  2. LS Andrew DePaola
  3. G Dakota Dozier
  4. DE Everson Griffen
  5. CB Tye Smith
  6. OT Zack Bailey
  7. FB Jake Bargas
  8. LB Tuf Borland
  9. QB Jake Browning
  10. TE Zach Davidson
  11. S Myles Dorn
  12. G Kyle Hinton
  13. DE Hercules Mata’afa
  14. WR Myron Mitchell
  15. CB Parry Nickerson
  16. WR Whop Philyor
  17. RB A.J. Rose, Jr.
  18. DE Kenny Willekes
  19. WR Shane Zylstra
  20. WR Chad Beebe (Injured)
  21. S Luther Kirk (Injured)
  22. G Dru Samia (Injured)
  23. QB Nate Stanley (Injured)

Griffen, 33, is a former fourth-round pick of the Vikings back in 2010. He signed a six-year, $75 million contract that includes $34 million guaranteed in 2017, but the Vikings declined to pick up his option back in February, which allowed him to become a free agent. 

The Cowboys signed Griffen to a one-year, $6 million contract this offseason. However, they later traded him to the Lions before the deadline. The Vikings re-signed him a few weeks ago. 

In 2020, Griffen appeared in 14 games for the Cowboys and Lions and recorded 33 tackles, six sacks and four passes defended. Pro Football Focus has him rated as the No. 64 edge rusher out of 115 qualifying players.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply