Bengals Sign WR Cody Thompson & DE Freedom Akinmoladun To PS


The Cincinnati Bengals announced Tuesday that they’ve signed DE Freedom Akinmoladun and WR Cody Thompson to the practice squad.

Here’s the Bengals updated practice squad:

  1. TE Moritz Bohringer (International)
  2. TE Jordan Franks
  3. S Trayvon Henderson
  4. TE Mason Schreck
  5. OT Wyatt Miller
  6. DE Davin Bellamy
  7. WR Trenton Irwin
  8. RB Samaje Perine
  9. LB Brady Sheldon
  10. WR Cody Thompson 
  11. DE Freedom Akinmoladun 

Cincinnati had two open practice squad spots after they promoted WR Damion Willis and LB Hardy Nickerson to their active roster on Monday.

Thompson, 23, wound up going undrafted out of Toledo back in April. He later agreed to a three-year, $1.755 million contract with the Chiefs, but was among their roster cuts coming out of the preseason.

Kansas City later signed Thompson to their practice squad before releasing him in October. He recently had a brief stint on the Seahawks’ taxi squad.

During his college career at Toledo, Thompson caught 181 passes for 3,312 yards receiving and 30 touchdowns over the course of five seasons and 50 games.

Leave a Reply

Notify of