Chargers Waive 16 Players To Get To 53

The Chargers announced they have waived 16 players to get to 53 on the initial final roster. 

The full list includes: 

  1. K Michael Badgley
  2. WR Michael Bandy
  3. RB Darius Bradwell
  4. CB John Brannon III
  5. DL Cortez Broughton
  6. LB Cole Christiansen
  7. DB Ben DeLuca
  8. OLB Emeka Egbule
  9. DL Breiden Fehoko
  10. OLB Joe Gaziano
  11. G Nate Gilliam
  12. G Ryan Hunter
  13. WR Tyron Johnson
  14. WR Jason Moore
  15. WR Joe Reed
  16. TE Hunter Kampmoyer

Johnson, 25, signed with the Texans as an undrafted free agent out of Oklahoma State following the 2019 NFL Draft. He signed a three-year $1.755 million contract but was waived coming out of the preseason.

Johnson signed to the Bills practice squad a few days later and had brief stints with the Texans and Panthers before signing with the Chargers’ practice squad in 2019.

Los Angeles re-signed him to a futures contract last offseason but was among their final roster cuts coming out of training camp. He signed to the Chargers’ practice squad shortly afterward and was eventually promoted to the active roster. 

In 2020, Johnson appeared in 12 games and recorded 20 receptions for 398 yards (19.9 YPC) and three touchdowns. 

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply