Jaguars Cut Eight Players, Re-Sign TE James O’Shaughnessy & K Aldrick Roses

The Jacksonville Jaguars announced Wednesday that they’ve officially released eight players at the start of the 2021 league year and re-signed TE James O’Shaughnessy and K Aldrick Roses.

Jaguars Logo

The full list of roster cuts includes:

  1. CB Quenton Meeks
  2. CB Rashaan Melvin
  3. P Cameron Nizialek
  4. CB Josh Nurse
  5. RB Craig Reynolds
  6. DT Dontavius Russell
  7. DT Al Woods
  8. DT Gabe Wright

Melvin, 31, originally signed on with the Buccaneers as an undrafted free agent out of Northern Illinois back in 2013. He has played for a few teams since the Buccaneers cut him loose at the start of the 2014 season including the Dolphins, Ravens and Patriots.

The Raider signed Melvin to a one-year, $6.5 million contract for the 2018 and he took another one-year deal a year later with the Lions worth $3.5 million. In 2020, he signed a one-year, $2.25 million deal with the Jaguars. 

According to, releasing Melvin will free up $1,103,125 of available cap space while creating $625,000 in dead money. 

In 2019, Melvin appeared in 13 games for the Lions and recorded 68 tackles, no interceptions and 11 passes defended. Pro Football Focus has him rated as the No. 88 cornerback out of 113 qualifying players.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply