Lions Sign 15 To Practice Squad, Cut TE Darren Fells & S Dean Marlowe

The Detroit Lions announced that they’ve released TE Darren Fells and S Dean Marlowe and signed 15 players to their practice squad. 

Lions helmet

The full list includes:

  1. LB Tavante Beckett
  2. OLB Rashod Berry
  3. NT Miles Brown
  4. S Jalen Elliott
  5. K Zane Gonzalez
  6. DE Bruce Hector
  7. G Tommy Kraemer
  8. TE Alize Mack
  9. WR Javon McKinley
  10. RB Dedrick Mills
  11. T Darrin Paulo
  12. RB Craig Reynolds
  13. CB Nickell Robey-Coleman
  14. WR Sage Surratt
  15. TE Brock Wright

Fells, 35, originally signed on with the Seahawks back in 2013. He spent just a few months in Seattle before he was waived at the start of the 2013 season and later signed by the Cardinals.

After a few years in Arizona, Fells signed a one-year contract with the Lions for the 2017 season. From there, he agreed to a three-year contract worth $12 million with the Browns. 

Fells was set to make a base salary of $2.65 million for the 2019 season when he was released in 2019. He later signed a one-year deal with the Texans and then re-upped on a two-year deal worth $7 million in 2020 before being cut again. 

The Lions signed Fells to a contract this past May. 

In 2020, Fells appeared in all 16 games for the Texans and caught 21 passes for 312 yards receiving and four touchdowns.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply