Panthers Release K Roberto Aguayo & RB Jalen Simmons, Sign Two

The Carolina Panthers announced Tuesday that they’ve released K Roberto Aguayo and RB Jalen Simmons and signed TE Kent Taylor and WR Rasheed Bailey to their practice squad.

The Panthers’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. WR Mose Frazier
  2. OT Blaine Clausell
  3. DE Efe Obada (International)
  4. S Damian Parms
  5. WR Jamaal Jones
  6. CB Zack Sanchez
  7. DB Dezmen Southward
  8. TE Evan Baylis
  9. LB Richie Brown
  10. TE Kent Taylor
  11. WR Rasheed Bailey

Aguayo, 23, was selected with the No. 59 overall pick after the Buccaneers traded up to get him in 2016. He was in the second year of his four-year, $4.053 million contract and set to make a base salary of $634,208 for the 2017 season when the Buccaneers elected to cut Aguayo loose back in August.

The Bears later claimed Aguayo off of waivers, but unfortunately, waived him coming out of the preseason. The Panthers signed him to their practice squad a few months ago.

In 2016, Aguayo appeared in all 16 games for the Buccaneers and converted 22 of 31 field goal attempts (71 percent) to go along with 32 of 34 extra point tries and 52 touchbacks.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply