Six Players Declared Eligible for NFL Supplemental Draft


Over the weekend, NFL clubs were told the names of six young men who are considered eligible to participate in Thursday’s NFL Supplemental Draft.

They are as follows:

  • James Boyd, UNLV defensive end
  • Nate Holloway, UNLV defensive tackle
  • Toby Jackson, Central Florida defensive end
  • DeWayne Peace, Houston wide receiver
  • O.J. Ross, Purdue wide receiver
  • Damond Smith, South Alabama defensive back

ESPN’s Ed Werder spoke with an NFL GM who told him that none of the six eligible players are likely to be selected.

Should any franchise draft one of these players, they would lose their corresponding draft pick in the following year’s NFL Draft. For example, when the Raiders selected Terrell Pryor in 2011’s supplemental draft in the third round, the team didn’t have a pick in the 2012 NFL draft in that same round. So in theory, Oakland viewed him as a third round-worthy talent.

Since the supplemental draft began in 1977, a total of 43 players have been chosen by NFL teams. Among the big names are Bernie Kosar, Cris Carter and Brian Bosworth.

At least one player has been taken in the draft every year for the past four seasons. The Browns kept the streak alive when they nabbed wide receiver Josh Gordon from Baylor last July.

The supplemental draft begins July 11th at 1 p.m. EST.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments