Redskins Worked Out 12 Players

According to Howard Balzer, Washington brought in 12 players for workouts on Tuesday including RB De’Angelo Henderson and TE Ross Travis.

The full list of tryouts includes:

  1. TE Drew Belcher 
  2. TE A.J. Derby
  3. TE Marcus Lucas
  4. TE Pharoah McKeever
  5. TE Wes Saxton
  6. TE Ross Travis
  7. RB Matt Colburn
  8. RB Josh Ferguson
  9. RB De’Angelo Henderson
  10. RB Jeremy McNichols
  11. QB Tanner Lee
  12. QB Wilton Speight

Of this group, the Redskins signed Belcher to their practice squad. 

Henderson, 26, is a former sixth-round pick of the Broncos back in 2017. He was in the second year of his four-year, $2,545,164 contract when the Broncos waived him coming out of the preseason.

Henderson was on and off of the Jets’ practice squad in 2018 before returning to New York on an exclusive rights contract this offseason. After being cut loose by the Jets, Henderson was claimed off of waivers by the Vikings in July. 

Unfortunately, Henderson wound up being among the Vikings’ final roster cuts coming out of the preseason. 

In 2018, Henderson appeared in three games for the Jets and rushed for 19 yards on two carries.

Travis, 26, wound up signing a three-year, $1.62 million contract with the Chiefs as an undrafted free agent out of Penn State back in 2015. He was on and off of the Chiefs’ practice squad during the 2015 season and later returned to the Chiefs on a future/reserve contract.

Kansas City waived Travis during the 2017 season and he was later claimed off of waivers by the Colts. Unfortunately, he spent the 2018 season on injured reserve with a knee injury.

Travis re-signed to a one-year deal with Indianapolis back in February but was among their final roster cuts coming out of the preseason. 

In 2017, Travis has appeared in 11 games for the Chiefs and caught five passes for 43 yards receiving and no touchdowns.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply