Buccaneers Sign Veteran RB Antone Smith, Add Four Players To Practice Squad


The Tampa Bay Buccaneers announced Monday that they’ve signed RB Antone Smith to a contract and waived RB Russell Hansbrough.

The Buccaneers also signed four players to their practice squad including WR Donteea Dye, S Trae Elston, WR Freddie Martino and TE Tevin Westbrook.

The Buccaneers’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. OL Josh Allen
  2. OL Ben Gottschalk
  3. CB Javien Elliott
  4. Isaiah Johnson
  5. DT Rodney Coe
  6. DE Ryan Russell
  7. WR Donteea Dye
  8. Trae Elston
  9. WR Freddie Martino
  10. TE Tevin Westbrook

Smith, 31, originally signed on with the Lions as an undrafted free agent out of Florida State back in 2009. After brief stints with the Vikings and Texans, Smith joined the Falcons during the 2009 season and spent a number of years in Atlanta.

Smith played briefly for the Bears last year before signing on with the Jets during the preseason. Unfortunately, the Jets cut him loose coming out of the preseason.

In 2015, Smith appeared in five games and totaled 11 yards rushing on one carry.


Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply