Cowboys Waive DE Chris McCain From Practice Squad, Sign OT Clay DeBord


The Dallas Cowboys officially signed OT Clay DeBord to their practice squad and waived DE Chris McCain from the unit.

The Cowboys’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. TE Rico Gathers
  2. C Jake Brendel (Injured)
  3. WR Andy Jones
  4. WR Vince Mayle
  5. QB Jameill Showers 
  6. LB Jeremiah George
  7. DE Zach Moore
  8. T Keavon Milton
  9. DE Chris McCain 
  10. DB Sammy Seamster
  11. C Shane McDermott

McCain, 24, wound up going undrafted out of California back in 2014. He’s managed to make the 53-man roster in each of his first two years in the NFL and is currently in the final year of his three-year, $1.53 million rookie contract and stands to make a base salary of $600,000 for the 2016 season.

McCain was traded to the Saints a few weeks ago, but was unfortunately waived as the team cut their roster down to 53 players. Dallas signed him to their practice squad just a few days later.

In 2015, McCain appeared in eight games for the Dolphins and recorded two tackles, a sack and a forced fumble.

Leave a Reply

Notify of