Patriots Sign 10 Players To Futures Deals Including TE Will Tye


According to Mike Reiss, the New England Patriots have signed nine players to futures contract for the 2018 season on Tuesday including TE Will Tye.

As of now, the Patriots have signed 10 players to futures deals including:

  1. WR Cody Hollister
  2. DB David Jones
  3. CB Ryan Lewis
  4. G Jason King
  5. WR Riley McCarron
  6. C James Ferentz
  7. S Damarius Travis
  8. TE Will Tye
  9. CB Jomal Wiltz
  10. LB Trevor Reilly

Futures deals are essentially camp invites that will give players the opportunity to compete for roster spots during offseason workouts and training camp.

Tye, 25, wound up signing on with the Giants as an undrafted free agent out of Stony Brook back in 2015. He was unable to make the team coming out of the preseason but was later signed to the team’s practice squad.

The Giants elected to bring Tye back last year on an exclusive rights contract and he worked his way into a much larger role in the team’s offense. They brought him back on an exclusive rights contract this offseason but elected to waive him coming out of the preseason.

The Jets claimed him off of waivers only to cut him loose in October. Tye finished out the season on the Patriots’ practice squad.

In 2017, Tye appeared in three games for the Jets and caught four passes for 38 yards receiving and no touchdowns.