49ers Sign Three To Practice Squad, Cut Two


The San Francisco 49ers announced Tuesday that they’ve signed RB Matthew Dayes, OL Najee Toran and DB Tyvis Powell to their practice squad and released DB Dexter McCoil and WR Frank Stephens from the unit.

Here’s the 49ers updated practice squad:

  1. WR Steven Dunbar Jr.
  2. TE Ross Dwelley
  3. CB Emmanuel Moseley
  4. LB Pita Taumoepenu
  5. RB Jeff Wilson Jr.
  6. OL Zack Golditch
  7. WR Frank Stephens
  8. RB Matthew Dayes
  9. OL Najee Toran
  10. DB Tyvis Powell

Powell, 24, signed on with the Seahawks as an undrafted free agent out of Ohio State in 2016. He was in the first year of a three-year, $1.62 million contract when Seattle decided to waive him.

The Browns later claimed him off of waivers but cut him loose soon after. Powell was once again claimed off of waivers by the Colts but was, unfortunately, waived from injured reserve with a settlement. He bounced on and off the Seahawks’ practice squad until signing with the 49ers’ practice squad in November of last year.

In 2017, Powell appeared in three games for the 49ers and recorded five total tackles and no interceptions.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments