Bills Sign WR Deonte Thompson, Release RB Joe Banyard

The Buffalo Bills announced Tuesday that they’ve signed WR Deonte Thompson to a contract and released RB Joe Banyard.

  • The Bills also signed S L.J. McCray to their practice squad and released G Jordan Mudge and DT Marquavius Lewis from the unit.

The Bills’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. WR Brandon Reilly
  2. LB Zach Vigil
  3. G Will Pericak
  4. OT De’Ondre Wesley
  5. WR Malachi Dupre
  6. DE Eric Lee
  7. TE Ryan O’Malley
  8. C Adam Redmond
  9. S L.J. McCray

Thompson, 28, signed with the Ravens as an undrafted free agent out of Florida back in 2012. The Bills later signed him off of the Ravens’ practice squad back before was waived at the start of the 2015 season.

Chicago elected to sign him to their practice squad a few weeks later and promoted him to the active roster towards the end of the 2015 season. Thompson returned to the Bears on a one-year contract this past March but was waived last week.

In 2017, Thompson has appeared in five games and caught 11 passes for 125 yards receiving and one touchdown for the Bears.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply