Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes Wins 2018 Offensive Player Of The Year


Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes was named the Associated Press 2018 Offensive Player of the Year Saturday night at the NFL Honors show.

Here are the vote totals for offensive player of the year:

  1. Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes – 30
  2. Saints QB Drew Brees – 16
  3. Texans WR DeAndre Hopkins – 2
  4. Rams RB Todd Gurley – 2

Mahomes, 23, is a former first-round pick of the Chiefs back in 2016. The Chiefs traded first and third-round picks in 2017 to go along with another first-round pick in 2018 for the right to draft Mahomes.

Mahomes is currently in the second year of his four-year, $16.4 million contract and set to make base salaries of $645,000 and $735,000 over the final two years of the agreement.

Last week, league sources told Adam Schefter of ESPN that the Chiefs are expected to sign Mahomes to a contract extension after the 2019 season that could be worth $200 million.

Mahomes isn’t eligible to sign an extension under he’s in the final year of his rookie contract, which is why no discussions will take place until 2020.

The Chiefs have a fifth-year option they can pick up on Mahomes to ensure he’s under contract through 2021 and from there they could always franchise him if need be. However, it doesn’t sound like it will come to that.

In 2018, Mahomes appeared in all 16 games for the Chiefs and completed 66 percent of his passes for 5,097 yards, 50 touchdowns and 12 interceptions. He also rushed for 272 yards and two touchdowns. Pro Football Focus rated him as the No. 2 overall quarterback out of 38 qualifying players. 

Leave a Reply

Notify of