NFL Allows NFC South Teams Sign An International Player As 11th Practice Squad Member


The NFL announced Thursday that team from the NFC South division will each be given an exemption to use on signing an eleventh practice squad player, who will be ineligible to be activated during the season.

The NFC South was chosen to receive the international players in a random draw.

The four players chosen include:

  • England rugby star Alex Gray – Falcons
  • DE Alex Jenkins (UK) – Saints
  • LB Eric Nzeocha (Germany) – Buccaneers
  • DE Efe Obada (UK) – Panthers

“I am very happy and excited about the opportunity,” Obada said. “I feel like this is something I need to progress and further my career. I am very grateful to the guys who have worked with us and put their neck on the lines for us. It’s a chance to develop my skills and it is going to be nice to be in that NFL environment again.”

Obada, 25, signed on with the Cowboys back in April of 2015. He was unable to make the 53-man roster coming out of the preseason, but was later added to the Cowboys’ practice squad at the start of the regular season.

Dallas elected to bring Obada back on a future/reserve contract after the season. However, they elected to cut him loose a few months later.

The Falcons signed him to a contract last summer but he lasted just a month in Atlanta before he was waived at the start of the 2016 season.

During the 2015 preseason, Obada recorded a single tackle over the course of three games for the Cowboys.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments