Dolphins Officially Cut 21 Players, Down To 53 Limit

The Miami Dolphins have begun the process of trimming their roster down to 53 players. Here’s the list of roster cuts up to this point:

  1. LB James Burgess
  2. DT Deandre Coleman
  3. G Jamil Douglas
  4. TE Thomas Duarte
  5. QB Zac Dysert
  6. S Shamiel Gary
  7. LB Tyler Gray
  8. S A.J. Hendy
  9. T Ulrick John
  10. DT Chris Jones
  11. DE Cleyon Laing
  12. CB Rashaan Melvin
  13. CB Lafayette Pitts
  14. DE Cedric Reed
  15. WR Rashawn Scott
  16. DE Jordan Williams
  17. CB Chimdi Chekwa
  18. LB James-Michael Johnson
  19. TE Dominique Jones
  20. RB Daniel Thomas
  21. T Sam Young

Other roster moves include:

We’ll have more names added to this post as the news is available.

Culliver is coming off of ACL and MCL tears that led to him being placed on injured reserve last November.

Culliver, 27, is a former third-round pick of the 49ers back in 2011. He spent four years in San Francisco before signing a four-year, $32 million contract that included $16 million guaranteed with the Redskins back in March.

Culliver was set to make base salaries of $3 million in 2015 and $8 million from 2016-18 when the Redskins released him in a move that cleared $8 million in available cap space.

In 2015, Culliver appeared in six games and recorded 16 tackles and a pass defense for the Redskins. Pro Football Focus has him rated as the No. 110 cornerback out of 111 qualifying players.


Young, 28, is a former sixth-round pick of the Cowboys back in 2010. He lasted just one years with Dallas before being claimed off of waivers by the Bills.

In 2013, the Jaguars elected to claim him off of waivers from the Bills midseason before bringing him back on a two-year contract. He signed a one-year, $910K deal with the Dolphins back in March.

Last year, Young appeared in all 16 games for the Jaguars and played a total of 234 snaps.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply