Redskins Place RB Byron Marshall On IR, Sign LB Josh Keyes

The Washington Redskins announced Wednesday that they’ve placed RB Byron Marshall on injured reserve and signed LB Josh Keyes.

Washington also signed WR Jehu Chesson and TE J.P. Holtz to their practice squad and released QB Nic Shimonek from the unit.

The Redskins’ practice squad now consists of:

  1. RB Kapri Bibbs
  2. WR Simmie Cobbs Jr.
  3. TE Matt Flanagan
  4. WR Darvin Kidsy
  5. DB Kenny Ladler
  6. LB Cassanova McKinzy
  7. T Timon Parris
  8. DT JoJo Wicker
  9. WR Jehu Chesson
  10. TE J.P. Holtz

Marshall was expected to miss between two to four weeks with an ankle injury, leaving his status for Week 1 in question.

Marshall, 24, wound up signing a three-year, $1.62 million contract with the Eagles as an undrafted free agent out of Oregon back in 2016. However, he was unfortunately among their final roster cuts coming out of the preseason and was on and off of the Eagles practice squad.

The Redskins signed Marshall off of the Eagles’ practice squad in November of last year.

In 2017, Marshall rushed for 32 yards on nine carries (3.6 YPC) to go along with six receptions for 36 yards receiving and no touchdowns. He also contributed 89 kick return yards.

Keyes, 25, signed on with the Buccaneers as an undrafted free agent out of Boston College back in 2015. He had a brief stint with the Chiefs before returning to the Buccaneers later on in the season.

After two years in Tampa Bay, Keyes signed on to the Falcons’ practice squad and had a brief stint with the Chargers before he was waived last year and later claimed by the Browns.

Cleveland declined to tender Keyes a qualifying offer, making him an unrestricted free agent and he later signed on with the Texans. However, Houston cut him loose coming out of the preseason.

In 2017, Keyes appeared in 10 games for the Browns and recorded four tackles.

Looking for the latest NFL Insider News & Rumors?

Be sure to follow NFL Trade Rumors on TWITTER and FACEBOOK for breaking NFL News and Rumors for all 32 teams!

Leave a Reply